Adult Protective Services Elder abuse and self-neglect cases continue to rise in Rhode Island and on a national level. If you suspect abuse, neglect, and/or financial exploitation by a caregiver or self-neglect of an older person (60+) who resides in community call 401-462-0555 anytime. Rhode Island law requires you to report suspected abuse, self-neglect or exploitation of an elder. All Rhode Islanders are mandatory reporters. Reports can be filed anonymously. Like any adult, elders have the right to make choices about their lives. Our office does not have the legal authority to intervene and physically separate an elder from other people or places. To submit a referral to our Adult Protective Services Unit, click here. Not Just a Number Elder abuse and/or neglect has a significant impact on our communities, families, and economy. One in Ten Each year, one in ten Americans age 60 years or older experience abuse Billions with a B Estimates of elder financial abuse and fraud cases range from $2.9 billion to $36.5 billion annually Health and harm Seniors who experience abuse or neglect are twice as likely to be hospitalized as their peers Just call Elder abuse is underreported: it is estimated only one in 23 cases are known to authorities Elder Abuse & Self Neglect Cases Signs of Abuse Person lacks basic hygiene, adequate food or clean, appropriate clothing Person lives in a home that is cluttered, filthy, or in disrepair Person exhibits unexplained or uncharacteristic changes in behavior Person has unexplained fractures, bruises, welts, cuts, sores or burns Person has unexplained sexually transmitted disease(s) Person with dementia is left unsupervised Person is confined to bed without care and/or has untreated “bed” sores Person’s money is controlled by caregiver, but caregiver is failing to provide for the individual’s needs Person is isolated by a caregiver Caregiver is verbally aggressive or demeaning to the person Did you know Rhode Island law requires you to report elder abuse or exploitation to us? All Rhode Islanders are mandatory reporters. Make a report anytime by calling 401-462-0555. Reports can be filed anonymously.